Can we talk about the Panthers?

I just need a few minutes to talk about the Carolina Panthers and how much fun I have when I go to the games.

Carolina_Panthers_logo.svg

Now I will admit, I wasn’t a huge Panthers fan until semi-recently when my best friends showed me what I was missing. Zandi Watts joined the Purrcussion and Travis Durkee showed me the art of tailgating… after that I was hooked. And here we are today with me wanting to attend every game I can.

Continuing right along with my recap, back in January 2014 I was given the chance to attend the playoff game at Bank of America Stadium against the San Francisco 49ers. Normally I would have never been able to afford tickets, but my friend Katie Parham knew someone who hooked us up. It really isn’t what you know… it’s who you know.

IMG_4374

So we found some sparkly attire, headed to Bojangles for some chicken and showed our Panthers pride with a flag. We were ready to cheer on the men in blue.

IMG_4366

IMG_4368

Now I just have to pause for a second here and say that double headband has proven to be a fantastic purchase. I’ve worn it to several games since and it’s always a great game day accessory. Props to Claire’s for helping us find each other. I also have to give props to Katie for curling my hair that day.

IMG_4370

Katie and I had a great time tailgating and ran into some fantastic folks. Including the always ready for a day of fun, Whitney Hall, and Travis and his tailgating crew.

We didn’t get a picture with Travis, but us girls are always down for posing.

IMG_4378

IMG_4383

We also made sure to see Zandi do her thing in the drumline and I took tons of pictures. I’m a proud best friend.

IMG_4390

IMG_4408

Doesn’t she look so cute in her Purrcussion uniform? She always does an amazing job performing and was only frazzled once that day when a very tall man also wanted to play drums.

IMG_4399

IMG_4398

Luckily he finally went on his way and Zandi went back to doing her drumming thing, all while Whitney supported her with a special message.

IMG_4377

We use the hastag #zandisfault a lot on Instagram and Whitney wanted to make sure she knew that it was her fault we were at the game.

IMG_4423

After the performance it was time for us to go in for the game and I have to admit, it felt good to tell people we actually had tickets. Most of them were only there to tailgate because tickets were priced so high. I felt privileged.

We headed to the stadium and on our way in, we stopped to take a picture with Joshua Mathias Watts and his wife Keri. Two other members of the Watts family who I love.

IMG_4431

And then we made some random new friends. Everyone is always in a great mood when they are entering the stadium.

IMG_4435

Even fans of the rival team wanted to be friends.

IMG_4440

But once we made it inside, all friendships were over because we had some cheering for the Panthers to do.

IMG_4446

IMG_4448

Even though the Panthers ended up losing that day, we still had a great time. We also managed to sneak down and see Zandi and the Purrcussion during the game. Then Zandi took the cutest selfie.

IMG_4453

IMG_4461

Note to everyone: I tried this again at another game and an angry employee came over and told me I couldn’t be there because those weren’t my seats. I think it just depends on who is working and if you can weasel your way down there. I’m sure I will try again.

Another note: The woman on my left is awesome and let me use her bathroom on her RV several times while tailgating so I didn’t have to use a porta potty. I thought we should take a picture together so I could remember her.

IMG_4456

Go Carolina Panthers!

Leave a Reply

