Christmas Town USA

I love lights. Absolutely love them. When I was young I would beg my parents to drive me up and down the highway during any beach trip so I could see the signs and the lights.

So you can imagine my surprise when I learned that I had been living in North Carolina my whole life and I didn’t know McAdenville existed.

IMG_2142

McAdenville, also known as Christmas Town USA, became one of my new favorite places this year. In past Christmases I’ve driven around neighborhoods looking at lights and I’ve visited Tanglewood for its Festival of Lights, but a whole town of lights is something I had never experienced.

IMG_2150

When people at work told me that this town was only a short trip away from Forest City, I decided it was a requirement for my Christmas celebrations. And reading the website about the town made me even more excited. I strongly encourage you check it out here if you love lights as much as I do.

Luckily, I didn’t have to beg too hard for Travis Durkee, Alyssa Mulliger and Cory Tarlton to agree to go with me. Travis, who couldn’t believe I lived in North Carolina and had never heard of Christmas Town USA, even offered to drive his comfortable BMW so we could get the whole experience while riding through the town.

IMG_2175

Girls.. it was one of the best nights of my life. The town is absolutely beautiful. Everyone decorates their houses, there are over 300 trees and it perfectly expresses the magic of Christmas.

IMG_2148

We borrowed the fancy newsroom camera to capture the moments. And I’m really pleased with how the pictures turned out.

IMG_2189

How beautiful is that?

After driving through the town once, we decided to get out and walk around. I think that was my favorite part of the night because it gave us a chance to take more pictures and visit one of the town’s little shops to get apple cider.

IMG_2233

IMG_2243

IMG_2246

Although it was a little chilly, I loved every minute of the trip.

IMG_2250

IMG_2256

IMG_2269

IMG_2272

I’m also extremely grateful that I have friends who will go look at lights with me and take pictures in sleds with me like this:

IMG_2280

IMG_2281

IMG_2283

You guys are seriously the best.

PS- I’m planning another trip to McAdenville this Christmas and anyone is invited to join.

IMG_2287

 

Leave a Reply

