Erin on the Arts: Recycled Art

While writing for the newspaper, I came up with a very interesting idea. What began with an article about a man who does guard art, turned into a series on different artists that runs every Saturday. An “Erin on the Arts’ if you will.

I have interviewed artists who do woodworking, blacksmithing, and painting. But, one of my favorite artists that I have met used her sewing machine to make beautiful pieces out of recycled objects. Her name is Laura Harris, and she can take an old pair of jeans, or a t-shirt that she buys at the Hospice store and turn it into a masterpiece.

Laura is a member of the Rutherford County Visuals Arts Guild, where you can find her art on display and ready for an eager buyer. She says she loves creating something new out of recycled pieces.

I visited her house when I went to interview her, and there was no shortage of buttons and pieces that had fallen off other clothing, just waiting for Laura to put her creative twist on them.

She has made quilts out of old t-shirts for many of her friends, and even makes custom name tags. For that woman who wants a to add a little more sparkle to the daily routine.

One of my favorite things about her was her love for color and glitter. Everything, a girly girl looks for in an accessory. She also makes cute little “boogie bears” as she calls them, for the younger age groups. They are cuddly and adorable, and again, completely made from recycled materials.

Not to mention the scarves she dyes with a special technique.

But let’s cut to the chase about what I really loved about Laura.

What I really loved, was that she made me a wristlet. I saw some of her examples of them in the art guild, and I just had to have one. Aren’t the colors lovely? Perfect to carry around everything you need during a night out.

When I saw these babies, I fell in love, and asked her if she would make one for me. Of course, like any artist who makes a living selling her pieces, she agreed. And then, my wristlet made its first debut on my arm in Nashville.

If you ignore Amanda’s tongue and look on my arm, you can kinda see it. Luckily, I took a picture with my phone the day I got it.

Cute right? Obviously, my favorite part is the glitter.

Laura is an incredibly sweet lady, and an amazing artist. I would recommend that all of you girly girls check out what she has to offer.

If you are interested in her art, you can call the Rutherford County Visual Arts Guild at 828-288-5009. They are open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. They will put you in touch with her 🙂

P.S.- All of these pictures were taken by the very talented photographer known as Garrett Byers. He is a great friend! Please, visit his Facebook page and show him some love!

One thought on “Erin on the Arts: Recycled Art

Leave a Reply

