Television Tuesdays: The American Music Awards

For today’s edition of Television Tuesdays I decided to do a post about the American Music Awards (AMAs) that aired on Sunday night. The show was the topic of choice for many tweets and Facebook statuses, whether it was discussion of the winners or the performances. I thought I would do a little recap of the night, for you girly girls that might have missed it.

The show’s jam-packed star power did not disappoint. The attendees ranged from Kelly Clarkson to Justin Bieber, featuring all different genres of music. The Biebs rocked out for his fans, performing his holiday song “Mistletoe.”

Personally, my favorite performance of the night came from Jennifer Lopez, who also took home the award for Favorite Latin Artist. I give her major props for her glitter attire. She has a rocking body and she used it on stage, shaking that thing all up on Pitbull. Perhaps this was a way to make Marc Anthony jealous, seeing as he performed with Pitbull right after she did. If that was the goal, I think she succeeded. You go J.Lo!

Jennifer Lopez and Pitbull

The lovely Katy Perry was also in the house. She received a special award for being the first woman ever to have five number 1 singles from one album and she did it all while looking beautiful with pink hair.

Katy Perry

The end of the show had Twitter and Facebook buzzing when the Artist of the Year was announced. This honor went to Taylor Swift. Swift beat out other amazing artists such as Adele and Katy Perry to win this award. I was very surprised when she was announced as the winner. Although her songs are catchy and I am guilty of singing along when they come on the radio, she would not be my choice for Artist of the Year. When you put songs like “Mean” up against the brilliance of Adele’s “Set Fire to the Rain” there really can be no comparison. However, I guess that America disagrees with me.

Swift accepted her awards with a surprised face, a glittering dress (which I did like btw), and hair that looked like her stylist didn’t make it to the show. But, she did spend the entire evening with her best friend Selena Gomez by her side. Oh Selena, I do love you, even if you are dating the Biebs!

LMFAO closed the show with a medley of their songs “Party Rock Anthem” and “Sexy And I Know It.” This performance included Justin Bieber and David Hasselhoff. It really is something that you have to see to believe, so I have included the video for you. Enjoy and thank me later!

Leave a Reply

